Gov's IT Evolution: Transform Securely and Innovate Openly

The government in 2020 operates in a dramatically different fashion than it did even a decade ago. However, even with all these technological achievements, 80 percent of federal IT budgets go to operations and maintenance - that means that more than two-thirds of a government's budget goes to keep legacy systems functioning. The White House and Congress are urging agencies to change that equation and focus on modernization in three key areas: technology, process and culture.

Join GovLoop, Red Hat and your federal, state and local government colleagues on Wednesday, Feb. 12 from 9:30 a.m.-5 p.m. ET/6:30 a.m.-2 p.m. ET to learn how IT optimization, agile integration, hybrid cloud infrastructure and automation are helping agencies meet White House modernization goals.

Virtual Summit Schedule


Attendees can earn up to five CPEs. Please refer to the schedule below to see which sessions qualify for CPE credit.
Check out more detailed session descriptions here.

9:30 a.m. ET/6:30 a.m. PT
Virtual Environment is Open!
Download resources on cyber, cloud, digital services, CX and network virtually with your peers and Red Hat experts in the Learning Center. These free resources will help innovate openly at your agency.


10:00 - 10:40 a.m. ET/7:00 - 7:40 a.m. PT
Opening Keynote: Understanding Government's Transformation Challenges

In this keynote, you'll hear from a government IT leader about their top three challenges when it comes to meeting government's transformation initiatives.

10:40-11:00 a.m. ET/7:40-8:00 a.m. PT
Networking Chat and Learning Center Challenge

Download as many resources as you can to compete in our Learning Center Challenge! The winners will receive special Virtual Summit swag! You'll also have the opportunity to virtually connect and network with your public sector peers.


11:00 - 11:50 a.m. ET/8:00 - 8:50 a.m. PT
Session 1: Gov IT Optimization Made Easy
Session attendees can earn one CPE.

Every IT decision-maker balances two major demands: keeping the lights on and illuminating a path to future innovations. However, navigating that balance can be very difficult, especially when it’s coupled with new mandates that push for modernization.

Join us on Wednesday, Feb. 12th at 11 a.m. ET/8 a.m. PT for an in-depth discussion on how agencies can balance new technology and the maintenance of their legacy systems.

Specifically, you’ll learn:

  • A greater understanding of the current IT landscape in government and how agencies are navigating the competing demands of modernization and daily operations.
  • The biggest barriers agencies face as they look to modernize applications.
  • Best practices and lessons learned from agencies that have successfully implemented IT optimization strategies.

12:00 - 12:50 p.m ET/9:00 - 9:50 a.m. PT
Session 2: Bringing Your Datasets Together: Gov Embraces Agile Integration
Session attendees can earn one CPE.

Machine learning, automation and the Internet of Things are incredibly powerful tools, but in order for them to properly function, agencies need to have the right architecture in place so that they can coordinate between various disparate systems.

Join us for the second session at 12 p.m. ET/9 a.m. PT to learn how government can embrace Agile integration in their environments.

Specifically, you’ll learn:

  • Why some agencies are currently running into roadblocks with disparate datasets.
  • The biggest barriers facing agencies looking to integrate disparate datasets together.
  • How agile integration, machine learning and automation can transform the way governments make decisions.

1:00 - 1:30 p.m. ET/ 10:00 - 10:30 a.m. PT
Keynote: A Case Study Example of IT Modernization


In this keynote, you'll learn how one small agency was able to fully embrace digital transformation and provide a better experience for both their employees and the citizens it serves.


1:40-2:30 p.m. ET /10:40-11:30 a.m. PT
Session 3: Gov's Need for Hybrid Cloud
Session attendees can earn one CPE.

Government agencies embracing IT transformation efforts are finding it nearly impossible without some sort of hybrid cloud IT implementation. Hybrid cloud is a cloud computing environment that uses a mix of on-premises, private cloud and third-party, public cloud services with orchestration between the two platforms.

Join us at 1:40 p.m. ET/10:40 a.m. PT to learn how your agency’s enterprise infrastructure can better communicate and break down silos by incorporating a hybrid approach.

Specifically, you’ll learn:

  • How leading agencies are embracing a hybrid cloud approach.
  • Why governments are moving to hybrid cloud versus other cloud models to better implement IT modernization.
  • The biggest barriers facing agencies looking to implement hybrid cloud solutions.

2:40-3:30 p.m. ET/11:40-12:30 p.m. PT
Session 4: How Cloud-Native Development Powers Gov Innovation
Session attendees can earn one CPE.

Cloud-native app development might sound like more IT jargon, but it truly has the power to digitally transform how quickly agencies are able to implement app delivery with containers and next-gen technologies.

These applications are a new way to speed up how agencies build new applications, optimize existing ones and connect them all together.

Join us for the virtual summit's fourth session at 2:40 p.m. ET/11:40 a.m. PT to learn how embracing these design methodologies can save your agency time and resources.

Specifically, you’ll learn:

  • What cloud-native app development looks like for government agencies.
  • How the speed of cloud-native application development and implementation can radically change the way government’s iterate and innovate.
  • The biggest barriers facing agencies looking to invest in more cloud-native app development.



3:40-4:30 p.m. ET/12:40-1:30 p.m. PT
Session 5: How Automation Creates Full-Organization Effectiveness
Session attendees can earn one CPE.

With the right automation tools in place, agencies can revolutionize the way they work. Governments can focus on more mission-critical elements rather than simple compliance-based paperwork. However, implementing automation is not always easy.

Join us for the last session of the day at 3:40 p.m. ET/12:40 p.m. PT to learn how agencies can revolutionize their organizational effectiveness by implementing an automation platform.

Specifically, you’ll learn:

  • How automation can create more enterprisewide organization effectiveness for agencies.
  • The biggest barriers facing agencies looking to increase automation for their workloads.
  • How successful organizations have reimaged the way they work with automation.