NextGen Public Service Awards

Now Accepting Nominations
for the 2024 NextGen
Public Service Awards

GovLoop is proud to host the NextGen Public Service Awards for superior public service and achievement each year at the NextGen Government Training Virtual Summit. The awards recognize deserving individuals selected from the public service community for their intelligence, exuberance and dedication to improving and invigorating government.

Please join us in celebrating the public servants selected as this year's award recipients.

General Information

Nominations will be accepted from now through July 26, 2024. Award winners will be notified Aug. 19, 2024, and the category winners will be announced at the NextGen Government Training Virtual Summit on Oct. 23, 2024.

Please read more about the award categories and their specific attributes. The selection committee will determine and assign categories based on the information submitted via the nomination form.

Nominations can be submitted for individuals only. We understand that it takes a village to make change happen, however, we limit the award recognition to one person who represent the larger team and their achievements.

Nominator Eligibility: Nominators can come from a range of people —govie, non-govie, colleague, or supervisor. However, we do not accept self-nominations.

Nominee Eligibility: While nominators are not required to be government employees, nominees must be current government employees and can work at any level of government.

When submitting the nomination form, please provide accomplishments within the last two years. We’d like to ensure the finalists are being recognized for recent achievements taking place in government.

NextGen Public Service Award Categories

Manager of the Year: This category recognizes a manager or supervisor who goes above and beyond for their team and individual contributors. They actually care about their team, show up for them, listen to their ideas and advocate needs to upper management on their behalf.

Innovator of the Year: This category recognizes an individual who has identified and improved their organization in an innovative way, through remote/hybrid work, brought a process up-to-date or found a way to enhance virtual culture at your agency.

Communicator of the Year: This category recognizes an individual who demonstrates strategic communication, internally and externally at their agency. This person will push the envelope to find innovative ways to share their message while keeping employees and stakeholders engaged.

Diversity, Equity, Inclusion and Accessibility Champion: This category recognizes individuals who are passionate about diversity, equity, inclusion and accessibility in the workplace. They have actively improved or implemented processes, initiatives, training, awareness or other efforts that promote DEIA at their agency.

Outstanding Colleague: This category recognizes an individual that exceeds expectations day-to-day. Whether they offer to run meetings, contribute ideas, or help out colleagues in times of need, you can always count on them to pull their weight and more

Advancing Tech Champion: This category recognizes a forward thinker who has utilized technology as part of their approach to transformation. This individual is an innovative thinker who is trying to move their agency to tools like artificial intelligence or machine learning in order to allow more time for employees to actually do their mission-critical work.

Selection Process

Two award winners are selected for each category. For each category, nominees must:

  • Be dedicated to public service at the local, state, or federal level.
  • Have made an impact on their work or their colleagues.
  • Continue to strive for excellence and advance their organization’s mission in a positive manner.
Each nominee will be thoughtfully considered for the award by a selection committee. Award winners will be notified on Aug. 19, 2024, and will be announced at the Oct. 23, 2024 NextGen Virtual Summit.

The selection committee will score each nominee based solely on what is provided via the nomination form and finalists will be selected based on:

  • The impact they have made on their work or their colleagues.
  • Their leadership qualities.
  • Their commitment to continuously improve government.
  • Their ability to make positive change happen.

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I submit a nomination?
Complete the form on this page by 11:59 p.m. ET on July 26, 2024.

I can’t access or submit the online nomination form. What do I do?
Send an email to [email protected] and we’ll find an accommodation for you to submit the form.

Who can submit a nomination?
Anyone can submit a nomination, but the nominator needs to be very familiar with the nominee’s work and accomplishments as they are directly related to public service.

Can I nominate myself?
No, but you can ask someone else to nominate you!

Can I nominate a team?

We only accept individual nominations. You can nominate multiple people individually on a team.

Who is eligible for a NextGen Public Service Award?
Please see the eligibility requirements in the respective section above. All government employees at any level of government are eligible to be nominated.

Which awards category should I select?
There is a dropdown to select which category you think your nominee best fits. The selection committee will designate the final categories based on information provided on the nomination form.

Is there a limit to how many nominations I can submit?
Nope! The more, the merrier.

Does NextGen require agency/office approval before accepting the nomination?
No. While some agencies or divisions may conduct their own internal review process, we do not require advance approval by any particular office.

Who chooses the finalists and winners?
The award winners are determined by the selection committee following careful review of the nominations.

I just submitted a nomination! When can I expect to hear from you? Nominators and nominees will receive emails the week of Aug. 19, 2024, letting them know the status of the nomination.

I still have questions. Who can I contact?
For additional information, contact Leah Anderson at [email protected].