NextGen Public Service Awards
Now Accepting Nominations for the 2023 NextGen Public Service Awards

GovLoop is proud to host the NextGen Public Service Awards for superior public service and achievement each year at the NextGen Government Training Virtual Summit. The awards recognize deserving individuals selected from the public service community for their intelligence, exuberance and dedication to improving and invigorating government.

General Information

Nominations will be accepted from now through July 31, 2023. Award winners will be notified the week of Sept. 4, 2023, and the category winners are honored at the NextGen Government Training Virtual Summit on Oct. 25, 2023.

Please read more about the award categories and their specific attributes. The selection committee will determine and assign categories based on the information submitted via the nomination form.

Nominator Eligibility

Nominators can be anyone who has detailed knowledge about the nominees' work in public service. Most often we receive nominations from colleagues, peers and supervisors. However, we do not accept self-nominations.

Nominee Eligibility

While nominators are not required to be government employees, nominees must be current government employees and can work at any level of government.

When submitting the nomination form, please provide accomplishments that have occurred within the last three years. We’d like to ensure the finalists are being recognized for recent achievements taking place in government.

2023 NextGen Public Service Award Categories

Manager of the Year

This category recognizes a manager or supervisor who goes above and beyond for their team and individual contributors. They care deeply about their team, show up for them, listen to their ideas and advocate needs on their behalf to upper management and leadership.

Innovator of the Year

The past two years have completely flipped what workforce norms look like. This category recognizes an individual who has identified and improved their organization in an innovative way, brought a process up-to-date or found a way to enhance the workplace culture at an agency.

Communicator of the Year

This category recognizes an individual who demonstrates strategic communication, internally at their agency and externally with constituents or other organizations. This person will push the envelope to find innovative ways to share their message while keeping employees and stakeholders engaged.

Diversity, Equity, Inclusion and Accessibility Champion

This category recognizes an individual who is passionate about DEIA in the workplace. They have actively improved or implemented processes, initiatives, training, awareness or other efforts that promote DEIA at their agency.

Outstanding Colleague

This category recognizes an individual who exceeds expectations on a day-to-day basis. Whether they offer to run meetings, contribute ideas, or help out colleagues in times of need regardless of their own duties, you can always count on them to pull their weight and more.

Advancing Tech Champion

This category recognizes a forward thinker who has utilized technology as part of their approach to transformation. This person is an innovative thinker who is trying to move their agency to tools like artificial intelligence or machine learning in order to allow more time for employees to focus on mission-critical work.

Selection Process:

Two award winners are selected for each category.
For each category, nominees must:

  • Be dedicated to public service at the local, state, or federal level.
  • Have made an impact on their work or their colleagues.
  • Continue to strive for excellence and advance their organization’s mission in a positive manner.
Each nominee will be thoughtfully considered for the award by a selection committee. Award winners will be notified the week of Sept. 4, 2023, and will be announced at the Oct. 25, 2023 NextGen Virtual Summit.

The selection committee will score each nominee based solely on what is provided via the nomination form and finalists will be selected based on:

  • The impact they have made on their work or their colleagues.
  • Their leadership qualities.
  • Their commitment to continuously improve government.
  • Their ability to make positive change happen.

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I submit a nomination?

Complete the form on this page by 11:59 p.m. ET on July 31, 2023.

I can't access or submit the online nomination form. What do I do?

Please reach out to us directly at [email protected] if you're having difficulty submitting your nomination via the form on this page. We will be happy to assist you.

Who can submit a nomination?

Anyone can submit a nomination but the nominator needs to be very familiar with the nominee's work and accomplishments as they are directly related to public service.

Can I nominate myself?

No, but you can ask someone else to nominate you!

Can I nominate a team?

No, we require individual nominations for individual people. We are not recognizing teams at this time.

Who is eligible for a NextGen Public Service Award?

Please see the eligibility requirements in the respective section above. All government employees at any level of government are eligible to be nominated.

Are nominees notified that they have been nominated?

Yes, nominees will receive a notification email that they have been nominated. This notification will only include your name (the person submitting the nomination) and will not contain any details about the nomination itself. 

Which awards category should I select?

There is a dropdown menu on the form to select which category you think your nominee best fits. The selection committee will designate the final categories based on information provided on the nomination form.

Is there a limit to how many nominations I can submit?

Nope! The more, the merrier.

Does NextGen require agency/office approval before accepting the nomination?

No. While some agencies or divisions may conduct their own internal review process, we do not require advance approval by any particular office.

Who chooses the finalists and winners?

The award finalists and winners are determined by the selection committee following a careful review of the nominations.

I just submitted a nomination! When can I expect to hear from you?

Nominators, nominees and submitters (if applicable) will receive emails the week of Sept. 4, 2023, letting them know the status of the nomination.

I still have questions. Who can I contact?

For additional information, contact Maddie Willis at [email protected].