Innovation, Equity and Transformation – How Gov Is Looking Forward

Governments at all levels were forced to make massive changes in response to the pandemic, and those changes will continue to develop this year. And that effort just got a boost.

The Biden Stimulus Bill includes a billion dollars to fund the Technology Modernization Fund. This is the biggest infusion of funding for transformation efforts in more than a decade. But figuring how to innovate in fair and equitable ways to truly transform government is not easy.

Join us and your public sector peers on Wednesday, May 12 from 9:45 a.m. ET/6:45 a.m. PT to 4:30 p.m. ET/1:30 p.m. PT to hear from federal, state, local and industry leaders about how they are innovating in an equitable manner.

Our speakers will answer these three questions and many more:

  • How did gov get here?
  • What can and should government be doing to tackle outdated systems?
  • How can agencies modernize their workforce, policies and procedures to make these changes stick?



Virtual Summit Schedule


Review the schedule below for details and check back for speaker updates.

[9:45 a.m. ET/6:45 a.m. PT]
Virtual environment is open! Welcome and Housekeeping

Download resources on transformation techniques throughout the environment. These resources will help you solve some of your agency's biggest challenges.


[10:00 - 10:20 a.m. ET/7:00 - 7:20 a.m. PT] 
Opening Government Case Study: Exploring the Foundations of Equity in Tech

Speaker: Jeanne Holm, Deputy Mayor for Budget and Innovation, City of Los Angeles

In this government case study session, you'll hear from an expert about the factors they consider when developing innovative solutions and how they ensure equity within the process.


[10:30 - 11:10 a.m. ET/7:30 - 8:10 a.m. PT]
Session 1: How Gov Can Deliver Better, Faster, More Resilient Services

Speaker:
  • Michael Peckham, Chief Financial Officer, Program Support Center, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
  • Arthur Ford, Director of Public Sector Strategy, Tricentis
From COVID testing, to drivers license renewal, to small business loans, government agencies need to deliver critical government services. The problem, is that outdated technology often slows down the process and makes it frustrating for the end-users and government employees alike.

Join us online to learn how agencies can rely on low code software to accelerate your agency’s mission delivery. Specifically, you’ll learn:
  • The benefits of low code or no code and accelerating the mission for public sector.
  • How agencies can track end-to-end testing in a post-COVID world.
  • How agencies can deliver a better constituent experience by improving software quality.


[11:20 - 12 p.m ET/8:20 - 9 a.m. PT] 
Session 2: Fireside Chat

You'll hear from an industry leader about how gov agencies should and can transform to meet their challenges.


[12:10-12:30 p.m. ET /9:10 - 9:30 a.m. PT] 
Government Keynote: Best Practices

In this government keynote, you'll hear from an innovator who has successfully navigated the transformation challenge. You will learn five best practices based on their experiences transforming their organization for the better.


[12:40 - 1:20 p.m. ET/9:40 – 10:20 a.m. PT]
Session 3: How Gov Transformation Is Fueled By Automation and DevSecOps

Many organizations’ inability to effectively transform begins with flawed assumptions. These assumptions are rooted in an outdated mindset that plagues many organizations. Take auditing and governance for example. Most organizations fail to either properly implement auditing or fail to scale their governance because they approach the task from a traditional perspective.

These traditional governance models are antipatterns. John Willis and Bill Bensing will discuss how the U.S. Government can leverage modern governance with a DoD Enterprise DevSecOps Reference Design compliant approach to define a new perspective on software compliance at scale.

[1:30 - 2:10 p.m. ET/10:30 – 11:10 a.m. PT]
Session 4: How to Get Innovative Ideas off the Ground in Gov

Governments have the power to transform the lives of their constituents, but it takes bold and innovative ideas to make those transformations possible. Statements of intent are often the catalyst for innovation in government. But turning an idea from concept to reality takes hard work. Take the COVID-19 vaccine development or the testing that is occurring to monitor the effectiveness of drug therapies for COVID-19, these programs took enormous coordination, data, work with digital services, the cloud, personnel and more.


Join government and industry experts as they explore how government can embrace innovation and turn ideas into reality.

Specifically, you’ll learn:

  • How agencies can promote, invest in and realize innovative ideas and strategies.
  • How data can be used to spur innovation, create buy-in and coordinate efforts.
  • How cloud technology can enable agencies to roll out new capabilities and functionality quickly and adapt them for use across other requirements.


[2:20 - 3 p.m. ET/11:20 - Noon PT]
Session 5: Ransomware, Telework, Oh My! Breaking Down Gov’s Top Security Threats

Government agencies are charged with protecting their data, people, systems and processes from cyberattackers. But with telework now a staple in government, networks are harder to defend. Ransomware attacks are on the rise, as cyber offices are stretched thin.

How can agencies combat these challenges, and truly transform their security operations for the better? Join government and industry experts as they explore:
  • Where agencies are most vulnerable and how to fill gaps.
  • How agencies are responding to the increase in ransomware attacks.
  • How agencies are training, managing and holding accountable their employees for security best practices.


[3:10 - 3:50 p.m. ET/12:10 - 12:50 p.m. PT]
Session 6: Fireside Chat


[4:00-4:20 p.m. ET/1:00 -1:20 p.m. PT]
Government Keynote: More Than Tech: How Management Plays a Role in Modernization

In this government keynote, you'll hear from a change agent who has successfully worked with their employees to manage a modernization effort. You'll hear lessons learned about how to optimize the people part of a major transformation effort.


[4:20 - 4:30 p.m. ET/1:20 - 1:30 p.m. PT]
Chat and Resources

5-12-21-VS-social.png

Why Should You Attend?


  • Learn virtually and network with your peers.
  • Grow your network by connecting virtually with your government peers.
  • Download free resources all about innovation and problem-solving in government.
  • Chat with GovLoop and learn how our free resources can open up a new world of learning.