Gov's Top Trends 2021: How Tech + Management Supports Mission-Critical Work

Change has been constant this year, including how public servants get their jobs done. The pandemic public health crisis and cultural issues reaching a boiling point meant that government employees saw some of the biggest challenges of their lifetimes arise over just the past few months.

A common thread through all this disruption for every level of government has been the roles that technology and management play to support mission-critical work. 

Join us and your federal, state and local government colleagues on Wednesday, Nov. 18 from 9:30 a.m - 5 p.m. ET/6:30 a.m.-2 p.m. PT to learn about the tech and management trends you need to pay attention to for next year.

Specifically, you’ll learn:

  • How technology has fueled major modernization efforts in 2020, and how that trend will continue next year.
  • The biggest funding, personnel and resources barriers agencies will face in the new year.
  • How employees can work together remotely to accomplish mission-critical work.



Virtual Summit Schedule


Review the schedule below for details and check back for speaker updates.

[9:30 a.m. ET/6:30 a.m. PT]
Virtual environment is open!

Download resources on tech trends throughout the environment. These resources will help you solve some of your agency's biggest challenges.
[10:00 - 10:40 a.m. ET/7:00 - 7:40 a.m. PT] 
Opening Government Keynote: Tech Trends of 2020

Speaker: April Slayton, Director of Communications, Library of Congress

In this opening keynote, learn how the Library of Congress has transformed their operations in response to the COVID-19 pandemic and more.


[11 - 11:50 a.m. ET/8 - 8:50 a.m. PT]
Session 1: Why Securing Your Identity Is Paramount for Gov
Session attendees can earn one CPE

Speakers:
  • Keith Casey, Product Marketing Manager, Okta
  • Lester Godsey, Chief Information Security Officer, Office of Enterprise Technology, County of Maricopa, Arizona

As millions of Americans access government tools and services online due to COVID-19, agencies are working hard to ensure proper security. One responsibility is making sure the identities of both the government employee processing the request and the customer are protected.

In this engaging panel discussion, you will learn from government and industry experts how agencies can ensure secure identities for the betterment of our communities.

Specifically, you’ll learn:
  • How agencies are securing their remote workforces and the citizens they serve.
  • The biggest barriers facing agencies looking to enhance their secure identity practices.
  • How successful organizations have transformed security operations for a remote workforce.

[12 - 12:50 p.m ET/9 - 9:50 a.m. PT] 
Session 2: How Government Can Master Microservices
Session attendees can earn one CPE

Speakers:
  • Chris Kang, Emerging Technologies Solution Architect, Red Hat
  • Jason Dudash, Principal Solutions Architect, Red Hat  
Migrating older applications to the cloud is often frustrating, and developing applications for the cloud requires different processes, skills and approaches. As a result of these challenges, agencies are turning to microservices—a method of developing applications that breaks them down into single-function modules with well-defined operations and interfaces.

In this engaging session, you will learn from two Red Hat experts who will discuss the challenges with effective microservice development and management, and how to best address them.

Specifically, you’ll learn:
  • How agencies can build microservices in an event-driven manner.
  • How to organize microservices around business capabilities and make sure they are part of a larger decentralized governance and data management solution.
  • Tips on dealing with any of these issues: dependencies, integration testing, versioning, monitoring, connectivity/service discovery.

[1 - 1:50 p.m. ET /10 - 10:50 a.m. PT] 
Session 3: Data Collaboration Remix - How Gov Is Creating a Single Source of Truth
Session attendees can earn one CPE

Speaker:
  • Nicholas Speece, Chief Federal Technologist, Snowflake
  • Crystal Philcox, Assistant Commissioner, Enterprise Strategy Management, Federal Acquisition Service, General Services Administration

COVID-19 has transformed the way many agencies think about, share and store data. There has never been a more important time for data collaboration and a single source of truth. But standing in the way of this new data revolution are barriers both technical and cultural.

In this engaging panel discussion, you will hear from government and industry leaders how agencies are working to get employees more comfortable sharing data and collaborating to create a single source of truth.

Specifically, you’ll learn:
  • How agencies are aligning, defining and implementing strategies to create a single source of truth in data.
  • How employees are adapting to the culture shift brought about by increased data collaboration and sharing.
  • How COVID-19 has impacted and changed agencies’ approaches to data.
[2 - 2:50 p.m. ET/11 – 11:50 a.m. PT]
Session 4: TBD
Session attendees can earn one CPE.


[3 - 3:50 p.m. ET/12 - 12:50 a.m. PT] 
Session 5: COVID-19 is the Catalyst for Government Digital Transformation
Session attendees can earn one CPE.

Speakers:
  • Kevin Albrecht, Senior Customer Advisor, Government & Higher Ed Sales, Hyland Software Inc.
  • Nelson Moe, Chief Information Officer, Commonwealth of Virginia; Leader, Virginia Information Technologies Agency

In the wake of COVID-19 and today’s virtual world, agencies across all levels of government are experiencing a critical need to move away from outdated manual processes, in favor of digital approaches that can empower a remote workforce. Managing processes and workflow online enables agency staff to do their jobs more effectively from any location and deliver the services constituents need quickly and transparently.

However, the move to digitization can create questions on the right tools to consider and best path forward. In this engaging session, you will learn from government and industry leaders about the ongoing shift to digital services that is happening in 2020 and how to set your agency up for success in 2021.

Specifically, you'll learn:
  • Results of a recent survey to understand where agencies were pre-COVID-19, and how the pandemic impacted their move to online government.
  • How agencies are moving to digital services, for a wide range of government programs, to meet their mission objectives.
  • The biggest barriers still facing agencies looking to optimize online services and how to overcome them.

[4 - 4:50 p.m. ET/1 – 1:50 p.m. PT]
Session 6: TBD
Session attendees can earn one CPE


[4:50 - 5 p.m. ET/1:50 – 2 p.m. PT]
Last Chance Swag

Stop by the Learning Center to download resources on tech trends for 2021.
11.18 VS banner social.png

Why Should You Attend?


  • Learn virtually and network with your peers.
  • Earn up to 6 CPEs by attending and participating in the live sessions.
  • Grow your network by connecting virtually with your government peers.
  • Download free resources all about innovation and problem-solving in government.
  • Chat with GovLoop and learn how our free resources can open up a new world of learning.