NextGen Public Service Awards
Nominations are Open!

GovLoop is proud to host the NextGen Public Service Awards for superior public service and achievement each year at the NextGen Government Training Summit. The awards recognize deserving individuals selected from the public service community for their intelligence, exuberance and dedication to improving and invigorating government.

General Information

We've extended the deadline! Nominations will be accepted from now thru March 15. Finalists are announced the week of April 15, 2021 and the category winners are announced at the NextGen Government Training Summit virtually on August 4-5, 2021.

Please read more about the award categories and their specific attributes. The selection committee will determine and assign categories based on the information submitted via the nomination form.

Nominations can be submitted for individuals and teams of four or less people. We understand that it takes a village to make change happen, however, we limit the award recognition to four or less people who represent the larger team and their achievements.

Nominator Eligibility

Nominators can be anyone—govie, non-govie, colleague, friend, family, supervisor or neighbor. However, we do not accept self-nominations.

Nominee Eligibility

While nominators are not required to be government employees, nominees must be a current government employee and can work at any level of government.

When submitting the nomination form, please provide accomplishments that have occurred within the last three years. We’d like to ensure the finalists are being recognized for recent achievements taking place in government.

NextGen Public Service Award Categories

Courageous Champion

This award recognizes a public servant that is blazing the path for their generation in government with courage and determination at the local, state, national, or international level.

Innovator of the Year

This category recognizes an individual or team who has identified new opportunities and improved their organization in an innovative way.

Silent Hero

This award recognizes a public servant who has operated behind the scenes, silently working in a dedicated and committed fashion, without the limelight. He or she has laid the foundation for stellar public service results and impacted positive change in their organization at the local, state, national or international level.

Exemplary Leader

This award recognizes an individual government leader who has demonstrated benevolence, competence, integrity, dedication, and commitment to improve and inspire their organization or community at the local, state, national, or international level.

NextGen Advocate

This award recognizes an individual who is consistently and relentlessly advocating for their project or team to further their organization’s mission, or an individual who is dedicated to cultivating talent, mentoring, and helping to guide NextGen public service leaders to become our future community leaders at the local, state, national, or international level.

Dedication During COVID-19

This award recognizes an individual who has gone above and beyond to during the coronavirus pandemic or has worked to ensure business continuity so that the mission of their agency is still accomplished in these unparalleled times. He/she has shown a commitment to improve and inspire their organization or community at the local, state, national, or international level.

Learn more about public servants who have been honored and celebrated at the NextGen Public Service Awards in the past.

Selection Process:

One award winner is selected for each of category. For each category, nominees must:
  • Be dedicated to public service at the local, state, or federal level.
  • Have made an impact on their work or their colleagues.
  • Continue to strive for excellence and advance their organization's mission in a positive manner.
Each nominee will be thoughtfully considered for the award by a selection committee. Finalists will be announced in early spring and winners will be revealed at the NextGen Government Training Summit virtuall on August 4-5, 2021.

The selection committee will score each nominee based solely on what is provided via the nomination form and finalists will be selected based on:

  • The impact they have made on their work or their colleagues.
  • Their leadership qualities.
  • Their commitment to continuously improve government.
  • Their ability to make positive change happen.

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I submit a nomination?

Complete the form on this page by 11:59 p.m. ET on March 15, 2021.

I can't access or submit the online nomination form. What do I do?

Send an email to [email protected] and we'll be happy to send you a Word document version of the nomination form to fill out and send back to us.

Who can submit a nomination?

Anyone can submit a nomination but the nominator needs to be very familiar with the nominee's work and accomplishments as they directly related to public service.

Can I nominate myself?

No, but you can ask someone else to nominate you!

Can I nominate a team?

Yes, but only for the Innovator of the Year category. Nominations for teams are limited to four people, with one individual as the main point of contact. On the nomination form, please submit this person as the nominee and list the other team members (only up to three additional people) in the 'Anything Additional?' question on the form.

Who is eligible for a NextGen Public Service Award?

Please see the eligibility requires in its respective section above. All government employees at any level of government are welcome.

Which awards category should I select?

No need to select a category! The selection committee will designate a category based on the information provided in the nomination form. If you feel strongly about a specific category, please mention it in the 'Anything Additional?' question on the form.

Is there a limit to how many nominations I can submit?

Nope! The more, the merrier.

Does NextGen require agency/office approval before accepting the nomination?

No. While some agencies or divisions may conduct their own internal review process, we do not require advance approval by any particular office.

Who chooses the finalists and winners?

The award finalists and winners are determined by the selection committee following careful review of the nominations.

What recognition do nominees receive if not selected as a winner?

In addition to the wonderful news that the nominee’s supervisor or colleague has recognized their hard work and achievements and took the time to submit a nomination, all finalists will be recognized at the NextGen Government Training Summit prior to the announcement of the category winner.

I just submitted a nomination! When can I expect to hear from you?

Nominators, nominees and submitters (if applicable) will receive emails the week of April 15, 2021 letting them know the status of the nomination.

I still have questions. Who can I contact?

For additional information, contact Emily Jarvis at [email protected].